The Board

The non-profit organization has a board of three members, who are responsible for the strategic plan, organization and daily activities to achieve the objectives. In accordance with the non-profit status, the board members do not get financial compensation for their activities.

The Board members:


Jan Denneman – chairman

  • Jan Denneman

More than 40 years of experience in leading executive roles in innovation, marketing and business development.
Initiated several international consortia, like the Global Lighting Association, Zhaga, the Connected Lighting Alliance, LightingEurope.
President LightingEurope 2013-2017; President Global Lighting Association 2007 – 2017.


Bruno Smets – treasurer and secretary

  • Bruno Smets

More than 30 years of experience in lighting innovation. Was active in the public private partnerships Photonics21 and E2BA (Energy Efficient Buildings Association) in order to drive the market uptake of LED lighting.


Marijke Gordijn – member, scientific advisor

  • Marijke Gordijn

More than 30 years of experience in the field of chronobiology, sleep regulation, chronotherapy and the non-visual effects of light. Founder/ owner of Chrono@Work and guest researcher at the University of Groningen, head of the scientific board of the Dutch Sleep-Wake society and vice president of the Society for Light treatment and Biological Rhythms.

Participants & Partners